Book Review – Working It Out By Jo Platt

Synopsis

Her new colleague is about to shake things up…

When her love life crashed down around her, Edie turned to work for solace. But office life goes downhill with the departure of her work wife, Ruby, and the arrival of new guy Cameron – a chauvinist, a womaniser and the very opposite of a team player. But is Cameron the bad guy he seems to be?

When a best-forgotten ex decides to get back in touch, Edie’s work life, love life and home life are on a collision course. Exactly what she will be able to salvage from the twisted wreckage, is anybody’s guess.

A funny and feel-good romance for fans of Mhairi McFarlane and Jo Watson.

Published Date: 3 February 2022

My Review

The story focus on Edie and people around her. She is an architect and have close relationship with her colleague except for one, Cameron.   The story continue with the lies that Ruby told her which affect her opinion on Cameron and her subsequent boycott of him. 

The story remind me of I don’t friend you, you don’t friend me kind of situation. Edie come across as one who easily take in people’s opinion and uphold it as her own. She doesn’t seem to be a person who have her own thought. Despite that, the characters are lovable although I find some situations in the story make me feel awkward. 

It is a good read for me although the story grow on me at a much later part. Love how the author created and develop the characters.

My Rating

jo

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s